Globally Harmonized System (GHS) on Oil and Gas

Globally Harmonized System (GHS)

GHS stands for the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals. GHS is a system that defines and classifies the hazards of chemical products, and communicates health and safety information on labels and safety data sheets). The goal is that the same set of rules for classifying hazards, and the same format and content for labels and safety data sheets (SDS) will be adopted and used around the world. An international team of hazard communication experts developed GHS.

The two major elements of GHS are:

1. Classification of the hazards of chemicals according to the GHS rules:

GHS provides guidance on classifying pure chemicals and mixtures according to its criteria or rules.
2. Communication of the hazards and precautionary information using Safety Data Sheets and labels:

Pictogram - Pictogram refers to the GHS symbol on the label and SDS. Not all categories have a symbol associated with them.

GHS classification system, there are three major hazard groups:

Physical hazards.
  • Explosives.
  • Flammable gases.
  • Aerosols.
  • Oxidizing gases.
  • Gases under pressure.
  • Flammable liquids.
  • Flammable solids.
  • Self-reactive substances and mixtures.
  • Pyrophoric liquids.
  • Pyrophoric solids.

Health hazards.
  • Acute toxicity.
  • Skin corrosion/irritation.
  • Serious eye damage/eye irritation.
  • Respiratory or skin sensitization.
  • Germ cell mutagenicity.
  • Carcinogenicity.
  • Reproductive toxicity.
  • Specific target organ toxicity - single exposure.
  • Specific target organ toxicity - repeated exposure.
  • Aspiration hazard.
Environmental hazards.
  • Hazardous to the aquatic environment (acute and chronic).
  • Hazardous to the ozone layer.
GHS Label System:

Hazard statements: Standard phrases assigned to a hazard class and category that describe the nature of the hazard. An appropriate statement for each GHS hazard should be included on the label for products possessing more than one hazard.
  • H200: Unstable explosive
  • H300: Fatal if swallowed
  • H400: Very toxic to aquatic life

Precautionary statements: Measures to minimize or prevent adverse effects. There are four types of precautionary statements
  • General
  • Prevention,Response
  • Storage
  • Disposal
Pictograms are graphic images that immediately show the user of a hazardous product what type of hazard is present. With a quick glance, you can see, for example, that the product is flammable, or if it might be a health hazard.
Pictogram Names

Top Most